Final Post

Throughout the duration of this assignment, I have broadened my knowledge on the world of business. I’ve gone into depth with topics such as lingo, communication tasks, organizations that can be joined, and more.

In the first blog post, I was to come up with a list of ten words that a professional in this line of work is likely to hear on a day-to-day basis. Two of, in my opinion, the most important terms of the ten are rapports and outsourcing. Rapports are simply connections between people. I found this to be important because connections are essential in the world of business. In order to gain credibility among others, you must have connections. This showed me how crucial connections are and how they can make or break a business. Outsourcing is obtaining goods or services from a different source. This is a key term to know because many businesses use this as a way to save money. It showed me the benefits of outsourcing and how it can shape and change a business.

In the second blog post, I came up with a list of seven writing and communication tasks that a person in this field will most likely have to be familiar with. Through research, I found that reports, memos, emails, presentations, apology letters, sales pitches, and meetings are just seven out of many writing/communication tasks that professionals face. Although I knew generally what each of these tasks meant, this list showed me that people in this field have to be able to communicate in many different ways. It taught me that in order to be successful, ideally, I need to be able to excel at communicating in person, over the phone, and online.

In the third blog post, I chose to come up with three distinct audiences that professionals in this field will have to communicate with. The first was clients, showing that a professional must be persuasive and sympathetic towards clients, while also building a personal relationship in order to give him/her a reason to continue coming back to the business. The second audience was co-workers, which showed me that professionals must be able to effectively communicate and work with the people around them. Although this post contained ideas that were all my own original work, I found, through deeper thinking, that I knew more than I thought I knew of how one would communicate with these various audiences.

In the fourth blog post, I found and researched five professional organizations that a business major could benefit from joining. The results I found showed me just how many professions that a business major could branch into. Since I am undecided as to which branch of business I would like to go into, I realized that many professions fall under the large umbrella that is business. Although I am still choosing, this assignment opened my eyes to the vast amount of professions so that I can begin to decide which branch of business that I’d like to study.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment